Bucket List # 2: Learn a foreign language

My love affair with the English language has progressed in much the same way as any long-term relationship. At times its attraction has been so intense that I’ve found myself powerless against its allure, while at others, it’s been left to simmer gently on the back burner as different interests have captured my attention.
Perhaps it was during one of these periods of waning desire that the idea of cheating on my old, familiar love first germinated. Was it time to explore what others could offer? Could I do that? Should I do it? Was it worth the risk? Of course it was! The question remained, where should I look for this new love? Where else but the most romantic city in the world, why not launch into a full-blown affair with the world’s most romantic language? French was to be my new paramour. 

Without a backward glance, I enrolled for classes at my local Alliance Francaise and launched myself, along with six new-found friends, into this exciting, new relationship and what a ride it’s proving to be. Like all new love affairs, this one is filled with joy and jubilation,  fear and angst, frustration and elation … it’s a veritable rollercoaster of emotions. Now, Sunday and Tuesday evenings are filled with frantic preparations for our liaisons the following morning, homework is obsessively checked, vocabulary revised and verbs conjugated

In five weeks I’m off to Paris for the first time and I’m pretty sure that despite my wonderful teacher’s best efforts, I won’t understand a word! Okay, maybe one or two but that’s all. Nonetheless, this is a long term undertaking that’ll take many years to reach fruition but I feel I can safely say I’m on my way.
Happily though, my linguistic infidelity has in no way undermined my abiding passion for my first true and only love, the English language.

Number 2 on the bucket list … tick … moving on.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Suzanne says:

    Avoir un temps merveilleux en France, Catherine. Je souhaite que je pourrais aller le long comme bagage supplémetaire.

    1. Merci beaucoup, Suzanne! Je vais ecrire et poster photos de chaque ville nous visitons. Une semaine pour y aller! (Hope this is right, still learning!!!! 🙂

  2. ntobeko says:

    Bravo Cathy! C’est un bon article et je suis fier de toi. Je suis sur que tu vas aimer paris et que tu vas te debrouiller. Bonne chance, bon courage et bon voyage!!! See you on monday in class

  3. Merci, professeur! 🙂

Leave a Reply

