Things I like!

When I was recently asked the seemingly simple question, “What do you like?” I found it really difficult to answer. What do I like? Like many of you, I can think of five the things I don’t like without a moment’s hesitation, bullies; bad manners; peanut butter; housework and going to the dentist, but to come up with 5 things I do like, well, that’s more tricky! Nonetheless, I’ve never been one to shy away from a challenge, so after much deliberation, I decided to write a list. So here goes:
5 things I like (in no particular order)

Nothing aids creativity like an inspirational notebook!
Nothing aids creativity like an inspirational notebook!

1. Writing my blog. There’s little more daunting than settling down with a newly sharpened pencil in my hand, an eraser at my side and a blank sheet in front of me, but as the rush of ideas start to pour into my mind and flow out onto the page, I experience a creative release washing over me. Addictive!
2. My morning cup of green tea. It started as a ‘health’ thing but has now become a pleasurable weekday ritual. I boil the kettle, dunk the teabag into my favourite mug, inhale the aroma and carry my brew into the garden to sip as I watch the birds and just breathe. Meditative!Green tea and caddy
3. Boogie-boarding in the sea on a weekday morning with a long-time friend. My pleasure is immeasurably increased by the startled looks of the trim, young sun-seekers as we march purposefully into the waves, boards under our arms.

You're never too old for fun!
You’re never too old for fun!

The joy of skimming over the surface of the waves and that “How old am I, again?” thought as I haul my aging, bedraggled body from the shallows to do it all over again is … unbeatable!
4. Chocolate. Any kind, anytime, anywhere! Heavenly!
5. Meryl Streep singing, dancing and bouncing on the bed in Mama Mia. Inspirational!
And because I’m now on a roll and can’t stop thinking of things I like:
Books; travel; romantic dinners; romantic movies; the ballet; ice-cream; lazy Sundays; white wine; fun times with friends; knowing what’s important and what’s not;strawberries … the list is endless, but most of all I like you, dear reader!
If you feel inspired, leave a list of 5 things you like in the comments section!

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Daphne says:

    Five things I like :
    1. Music
    2. Food …coffee , chocolate
    3. Exercise . Once I’ve got going !
    4. Talking ….. and listening .
    5. Seeing Table mountain , the sea , a beautiful flower .
    Made me think Cathy !! Also like that it’s what we like , not what we love !!

    1. I agree with everything on your list, Daphne! All happy, positive pastimes. Thanks for taking the time to share. xx

  2. Daphne says:

    Oh and I do like knitting
    Yes , like you Cathy can add lots of things !!!

    1. Okay, this one’s not for me – not because I wouldn’t like to, I’ve tried and just can’t! 😦

  3. mus.kins says:

    #2 is fantastic. I know that feeling so well but my tea of choice is English Breakfast 😉

    1. Thanks for your support 🙂

  4. Charlie Brown says:

    1. Your inspiring blog
    2. Your tasty food
    3. Your sage advice
    4. Your warm hugs
    5. Your unconditional love

    1. Thank you so much, Charlie Brown. You make my heart sing! Love you 5, my boy!!!

  5. Fiona says:

    My morning coffee, which is the best tasting coffee of the day.
    Cuddle with my cat, who purrs for a few minutes in my arms.
    Boogie boarding with my long time friend!
    Spending time with good friends, chatting, laughing, and sometimes shedding a few tears.
    Solving Sudoku puzzles whilst lying at the pool.
    All these simple things make me happy!

    1. Thanks for sharing, Fiona! Isn’t it amazing how it’s the simple things in life and not the grand gestures that make us the happiest 🙂

  6. The things that you don’t like… I don’t like them either! The things that you like… I love writing and chocolates! 🙂
    You have a fun list! 🙂

  7. My Likes:
    1. Cryptic crosswords with my morning cup of coffee
    2. Chocolate, all but preferably the darker the better
    3. A glass or two of red wine
    4. My home
    5. And last, but not least, spending time with my family and friends

    My Dislikes:
    Rude people
    Bad manners
    Litter
    People who queue jump
    Graffiti

    1. Thanks so much for sharing your list 🙂 . I concur on all counts except the cryptic crosswords … never have got the hang of them … too cryptic 🙂

Leave a Reply

