Colouring inside the lines

Recently, I have become more and more aware of my need to escape the trappings of the information age.
I suppose the problem really started with the advent of email. How exciting it was to press ‘send’ and have my words and pictures delivered anywhere in the world in seconds – okay, with Telkom as our ISP maybe minutes, but pretty fast, regardless!
Suddenly, I wasn’t looking out for the postman anymore but instead listening to the “boing, boing, boing” of a dial-up modem connecting to the great mailbox in the sky.
Then came ADSL and with it surfing the net. Soon, I was asking Dr Google to diagnose the cause of my latest malady, Chef Google for a 5 star recipe and Travel Agent Google to recommend the latest ‘in’ holiday destination. Despite taking up large chunks of time, these wonders of modern communication nonetheless proved very useful as I could get my probable diagnosis, flop-proof chocolate cake recipe and exotic holiday booked, all without leaving the comforts of home.
But then, Social Media was born. All of a sudden, there was Facebook, Instagram and Twitter and (almost) everyone I know was posting, tweeting and sharing everyday. Friends would ask if I’d seen their latest offerings and as I was anxious not to offend, I spent hours trying to  keep up to date. Now, it has all become too much and I need to escape the pressure.

Social media meltdown!!
Social media meltdown!!

I’m sure that I’m not alone. I say this because of the ever-increasing popularity of non-technology related hobbies and pastimes. The plethora of emerging craft shops are all doing a roaring trade in a myriad of previously unseen items. Washi tape and modge podge sales skyrocket and hardware stores abound with people buying sandpaper, glue and staple guns, while knitting needles and crochet hooks are just as likely to be sold to hip ‘dinks’ as to aging grandmothers.

A beautiful design to inspire creativity
A beautiful design to inspire creativity

However, the most telling sign that people are seeking an escape from the tyranny of the information age is the meteoric success of adult colouring books. If there’s a quicker, more successful way to turn ones back on technology and reconnect with ones childhood, I don’t know what it is.

An unfulfilled childhood dream purchase!
An unfulfilled dream purchase!

I haven’t succumbed yet, but I know it won’t be long before I invest in a book of beautiful designs and a box of long-admired Colleen crayons and spend my soon to be recovered hours trying hard to colour within the lines.
Just a parting thought though, still remember to check your Facebook, Google +, Twitter and Tumblr every Tuesday for my latest blog posting, unless you’re too busy colouring in, of course!

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Such an insightful post. Back n July I was tempted into buying myself an attractive, hard backed colouring book and a large tin of crayons. I started with great enthusiasm, carefully keeping between the lines and trying to select the most appropriate shades for my art work. Needless to say, four months down the line and I have only completed two masterpieces, the book gathering dust somewhere on a shelf but one day I will return to it no doubt.

    1. That’s why I haven’t bought one yet … I know it’ll just become another guilt inducing dust trap. The only trouble is, I still want one! 🙂

  2. barb says:

    hmm, I have also been eyeing them, there are some wonderfully beautiful designs to choose from…..but then I look at my latest unfinished mosaic or the pile of books begging to be read (how to decide which one to tackle next?) and so have decided to leave those for a day when I
    am really retired and my time is once again my own!

    1. I know, I know! So much to do and so little time! I’d still love to see your mosaicking (if that’s even a word!!!)

  3. Camilla Smith says:

    #$%@ Cathy, I don’t even have time to read you blogs and respond, let alone catch up with everyone on Facebook, twitter etc.! So much to do, so little time…. never had much patience for colouring so could never stay in the lines, but do love some of the design books available and may yet be persuaded. Love the lucky bean jar, and have recently been known to replace curtain in the sunroom that literally fell apart with hessian … the original sun filter. They actually really look good.
    Kym

    1. Thanks for taking the time to read my blogs. I love having your support and always enjoy your comments.
      You really need to give up this working for a living nonsense although I still don’t have much time 🙂

  4. mschrysalis says:

    Have you seen Zentangle? I’ve been tempted by the adult coloring books but then I remember my Zentangle and resolve to return to that practice.

    1. I haven’t heard of Zentangle … please enlighten me. Sounds like yoga although I’m sure its not 🙂

      1. mschrysalis says:

        I found the book at Amazon “One Zentangle a Day: a 6-week course in creative drawing for relaxation, inspiration and fun.” I just posted one of my zentangles on instagram. Check my sidebar, I have a widget that shows my latest photos and will take you to my account. Anyway, I have zero talent when it comes to drawing and this was my third zentangle.

  5. beingmepresently says:

    Always so much fun stuff to do and so little time. Love from a fellow blogger, crocheter, colourer etc etc. X

    1. Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to interact! 🙂

  6. I have a closet full of unfinished crafty things. My sister-in-law does the grown up coloring books and I would like to try…

  7. Until posting this I felt so alone with my hoarder of half finished crafts and projects! I love that others can relate!!!
    Thanks for the support 🙂

  8. This is a great post and totally relatable.

    1. Thanks so much for stopping by and engaging!

Leave a Reply

