On turning 60

I awoke on Monday morning with the realisation that I could no longer be considered young or even middle-aged. As I gingerly stretched my body, I felt the odd protest from my lower back and a slight ache in my shoulders, but my mind still resolutely refused to acknowledge what the calendar insisted was true … it was my 60th birthday!

Always an option!
Always an option!

I’m not sure how this happened as I am still firmly convinced that I’m 35, despite the swift disavowal of this delusion as I inadvertently glanced into the bathroom mirror. Nonetheless, I realised that I am happier now than I have been at any point in my life thus far.
Do I have fame and fortune? Do I have the perfect life? Do I have a huge circle of adoring friends? The answer to all these questions is a resounding “No!”, but what I do have is an abiding contentment.

My husband has always quipped that life truly begins when the kids leave home and the dog dies (apologies to all animal lovers) but for me, it’s when you’re finally able to rid yourself of decades of self-doubt and existential angst and feel completely comfortable with who you are.60_best_birthday_

Despite the fact that I have the coordination of a drunken monkey and can’t even carry a tune in a bucket, that won’t stop me from riding (and falling off) a bicycle or singing loudly in the shower. Life is to be enjoyed and I intend to spend the rest of mine tackling new challenges and embracing life as I “would rather be happy than dignified” (Charlotte Bronte) as I travel through life “wear[ing] purple with a red hat that doesn’t go” (Jenny Joseph).

Who wants to join me?

Starting with the red hat!
I’m starting with the red hat!
15 Comments Add yours

  1. You are only as old as you feel! Happy birthday!!

    1. How right you are! 🙂

  2. Congratulations, hope you celebrated in style!

  3. Thank you, it was wonderful! 🙂

  4. Margaret Victor says:

    I hope you had an awesome Birthday. 🙂

  5. Thanks, Margaret. It was wonderful thanks to my two beautiful daughters-in-law :). Lynne is so talented and did a wonderful job on the décor for the Victorian tea. xxx

  6. Scarlett79 says:

    Birthdays are always special…I tell everyone the day you were born, the world was changed forever and it was…May God bless you for many more ❤

    1. Thank you so much for following me and the lovely birthday wishes. 🙂

  7. Camilla Smith says:

    Oh My! Belated Happy Birthday! and welcome to t he sisterhood of the sixties. I guess those poor young things who say life begins at 40 have a lot to learn! I agree on all points. the angst of our early days is long gone. – cant afford to waste time worrying about things – just get on and do them …. but only if you want to, and enjoy it.
    Have a ball! Kym

  8. Thanks Kym. How right you are!!! It seems life really begins at 60!!! 🙂

  9. Very well put and spot on. I’m shocked when I pass a mirror and wonder why I feel so young on the inside, but the outside looks a little…well….worn:) I agree with your comment that we can finally feel comfortable with ourselves. 60 is a good place to be and I’m glad to be here as well. Happy Birthday!

  10. Sartenada says:

    You are young compared with me! I am 72 and very active man and feel inside very young. My wife and I love outdoors and walk daily from 5 to 10 km. My hobby is to shoot photos and show them in my blogs. My wife’s hobby are different handicrafts like beading and quilting.

    Happy weekend!

    1. Hi Matt. Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting.
      I’m sure you’ll agree that age is just a number and we both (hopefully) have many happy years left.
      I look forward to checking out your blog and seeing your photos.
      Have a wonderful weekend.
      Cathy

Leave a Reply

